Reflections on Raindrops

Hijab and self-respect

Posted on: September 3, 2011

There are many stories out there of reasons for wearing the hijab/ tudung. Today I shall write my story.

Earlier today I went visiting my relatives with my family, it’s hari raya season, after all. In my country, hari raya lasts for the entire month of syawal. Well, anyway, I met one of my friends, and she was dressed modestly, complete with her tudung. But then, the aunties around me were lamenting that on normal days, they don’t see her with the tudung.

I’m able to understand if a teen girl were to put on the hijab only when she “feels like it”. I used to be one too. At that time, I was taken in by the praises from my peers that “I have nice hair” and “I look pretty if I don’t cover up my hair”. There was also the desire to impress that cute guy. The naive-ty of teenage life.

But as I gained maturity throughout the years, I realised that it doesn’t matter how the others judged my appearance. I have nice hair, and a face that complements that nice hair, but in the end, I score points with my character, not my looks. I get more respect in dressing modestly, but I get unwanted stares when I “dress down”. Once in awhile, I do have the desire to show off my beautiful hair, but I rather not. I know of sisters who look gorgeous without the hijab, but I am full of admiration for them for “hiding their beauty”.

I believe that it’s hard to “cover yourself up” if you don’t have that level of self-respect in your own self. I find no other reason for girls not to cover their hair, except to hear the praises from others, and to attract attention.

It’s Allah’s command, after all, to put on hijab.

Leave a comment

These entries are taken and adapted from my private blog. Intended to be my compilation on my observations as a student in Islamic Studies. There is just so much that I do not know.. In Allah s.w.t, I seek Guidance.
"You are the best community singled out for people: You order what is right, forbid what is wrong, and believe in Allah." (Ali Imran: 110)
"Surely you cannot guide whom you love, but Allah guides whom He pleases, and He knows best the followers of the right way. [AlQasas : 56]"
September 2011
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930